The Dude

On a happier note, I have potentially found my C3/B horse! 

Meet Sawyer, a 2004 model OTTB. 

Image

 

Sawyer (reg. as No Front Shoes) had 5 starts before his owner pulled him from the track and turned him into a foxhunter up in New York. He chased for two seasons. Then was sold as an eventing prospect to a pony clubber in Idaho, but for whatever reason it didn’t work. That is when Sawyer found his last home in Wyoming. His owner, Lauren, decided it would be in his better interest to find a home where he would get to compete. This is where I come in. 

After weeks of emailing each other back and forth, we finally were able to coordinate schedules for me to go see the big guy. I drug my grandpa down with me to make the 7hr drive with the trailer to Wyoming. 

We were greeted by a 17hh chestnut gelding who was less than impressed that we didn’t have carrots for him, but was happy to have me poke and prod him while he snoozed. Not you’re typical thoroughbred, that is for sure. 

He lunged like a pro, and behaved undersaddle. Was very good considering not really being ridden since last fall. 

I rode him the next morning, and he was excellent. 

He is definitely on the lazy side and “go with the flow”, but I can live with that. I decided because of this, that he won’t be showing under “No Front Shoes”, but rather “The Dude” in honor of “The Big Lebowski”. 

In the meantime he needs some weight, muscle, shoes, and a trip to the vet. The boy gets his new sneakers tomorrow morning, and sees Dr. Brown Wednesday late afternoon. 

I’ve got big plans for this guy, and I hope he lives up to them. We’ve got a long road ahead of us, but I’m ready for the adventure. 

Adieu 

Leave a Reply

